New York Foundation for the Arts Names 2017 Fellows

ArtNews | July 2017


Untitled (Large Branch on Tiles), 2015
plated cast iron and wax
21h x 114w x 40d in

The New York Foundation for the Arts has named its 2017 fellows and finalists for its annual grants. Ninety-five artists are being recognized in categories that range from digital and electronic arts to nonfiction literature. Each fellow receives $7,000; finalists do not get any money but, according an announcement, “benefit from a range of other NYFA services.”

The artists this year were selected from 2,744 applicants, all of whom must live and work in the state of New York.

The full list of fellows and their counties of residence, with finalists for each category in addition, follows below.

Sharif Bey (Onondaga)
Robert Bittenbender (Kings)
Kathy Butterly (New York)
Jack Elliott (Tompkins)
Hiroyuki Hamada (Suffolk)
Dave Hardy (Kings)
Valerie Hegarty (Kings)
Sophie Hirsch (Kings)
Jerome Johnson (Kings)
Robin Kang (Nassau)
Zaq Landsberg (Kings)
China Marks (Queens)
Melanie McLain (Queens)
Shari Mendelson (Schoharie)
Toshiaki Noda (New York)
Kambui Olujimi (New York)
Peter Opheim (Kings)
Jim Osman (Kings)
Lina Puerta (New York)
Patrick Robideau (Niagara)
Diana Shpungin (Kings)
Elise Siegel (New York)
Kurt Steger (Kings)
Joanne Ungar (Kings)

Crafts/Sculpture Finalists
Jarrod Beck (Ulster)
Panagiotis Mavridis (Kings)
Susan Meyer (Columbia)

Digital/Electronic Arts
Merche Blasco (Kings)
Jeremy Couillard (Queens)
João Enxuto and Erica Love (New York)
LoVid (Suffolk)
Melinda Hunt (Westchester)
Zohar Kfir (Kings)
Jen Liu (Richmond)
Amelia Marzec (Kings)
Eva and Franco Mattes (New York)
Joseph Morris (Kings)
Ziv Schneider (Queens)
Pascual Sisto (Kings)
Christopher Woebken (New York)

Digital/Electronic Arts Finalists
Anthony Graves and Carla Herrera-Prats – Camel Collective (Queens)
DeeDee Halleck (Ulster)
Mattia Casalegno (Kings)

Nonfiction Literature
Humera Afridi (New York)
Jennifer Baker (Queens)
Ava Chin (New York)
Mitchell Jackson (New York)
T Kira Madden (New York)
Alia Malek (Kings)
Joseph Osmundson (New York)
Brice Particelli (New York)
Ross Perlin (Queens)
Hugh Ryan (Kings)
Aurvi Sharma (New York)
Neda Toloui-Semnani (Kings)
Kelly Tsai (Kings)
Alejandro Varela (Kings)
Katherine Zoepf (New York)

Nonfiction Literature Finalists
Brian Castner (Erie)
Lisa Chen (Kings)
Rong Xiaoqing (Queens)

Desiree C. Bailey (Queens)
Jennifer Bartlett (Kings)
Wo Chan (Kings)
Alan Davies (New York)
Joey De Jesus (Queens)
Betsy Fagin (Kings)
Jameson Fitzpatrick (Kings)
Harmony Holiday (New York)
Jake Matkov (Kings)
Uche Nduka (Kings)
Allyson Paty (Kings)
Tommy Pico (Kings)
Jayson Smith (Kings)
Ann Stephenson (New York)
Bridget Talone (Queens)
Michelle Whittaker (Suffolk)
Samantha Zighelboim (New York)

Poetry Finalists
Ana Bozicevic (Kings)
Krystal Languell (Kings)
Asiya Wadud (Kings)

Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts
Richard Barlow (Otsego)
Alex Barry (New York)
Natalie Beall (Dutchess)
Thalia Chantziara (New York)
Amanda Church (New York)
Amy Cutler (Kings)
Terry Conrad (Saratoga)
Donna Diamond (Bronx)
Mark Dion (New York)
Mark Ferguson (Kings)
Johanna Goodman (Rockland)
Ellen Grossman (New York)
Takuji Hamanaka (Kings)
Amir Hariri (Queens)
Carla Rae Johnson (Westchester)
Cotter Luppi (Columbia)
Kymia Nawabi (Kings)
Susan Rostow (New York)
Jennifer Schmidt (Kings)
Charlotte Schulz (Westchester)
Sean Sullivan (Ulster)
Dannielle Tegeder (New York)
Scott Teplin (Kings)

Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts Finalists
Nicole Maloof (New York)
Debra Priestly (Ulster)

Copyright 2017, Art Media ARTNEWS, llc. 110 Greene Street, 2nd Fl., New York, N.Y. 10012. All rights reserved.